J.R.C.G release new track ‘Rainbow’

Here’s something for your ears. A big bite of Art-Rock from Justin of Dreamdecay. There’s a new track called ‘Rainbow’ from J.R.C.G. Read what Louis has to say about it, give it a listen then read on regarding the new album.

Ajo Sunshine (say it with me folks, “Ahh-Ho”) is heralded by an alarming horn ensemble, stabbing with the dramatic urgency of a killer’s theme in a midnight movie. It’s a jarring but appropriate entry point for this brilliantly blasted listen, an array of exquisitely sharp edges punctuated by kaleidoscopic respites of throbbing warmth and surprising tenderness. J.R.C.G. (Justin R. Cruz Gallego)’s previous work with Seattle’s excellent Dreamdecay may foreground the broad strokes here, but he’s pushed things way outward in terms of his sonic palette.  Abutting field recordings captured from rodeos off Ajo Way, a stretch of highway that leads you westward out of Tucson Arizona directly into the sun, both acoustic instruments and gleaming walls of synthetic noise are framed in dour and dissonant chord shapes, crackling with overdriven drum mics and seasick waves of distortion.  It’s homage that plays out like a collage, a dream switching from station to station, a series of dedications broadcast on late night radio. All pin-hole size images from scenes never seen whole, strung together in but one version of complete. It all makes for a dazzling listen and it’s out on Castle Face November 19th.

 1. I.L.W.T.W.
 2. Rainbow
 3. Holy Hope
 4. V
 5. De La Frontera
 6. Brother Was A Bullrider
 7. Ajo Sunshine
 8. Lowrider
 9. Bopp
10. Olga
11. Brown Boy
12. Love Is A Drum
%d bloggers like this: