SUN’S SIGNATURE: (Elizabeth Fraser + Damon Reece) Share New Single “Apples” || Debut EP Out 18 June


Today, vocalist Elizabeth Fraser and percussionist Damon Reece have shared a new single from their upcoming project, Sun’s Signature“Apples” is the ethereal and epic highlight from the duo’s self-titled EP, out physically this Saturday June 18th via Partisan Records for Record Store Day, with a digital release following on July 29. “Apples” follows previous singles “Golden Air” and “Underwater,” which mark Fraser’s first new music in over 13 years.

Fraser and Reece’s early careers in some of the world’s most heralded musical groups are well documented. Elizabeth, the unforgettable voice of Cocteau Twins and This Mortal Coil’s cover of “Song to the Siren,” is also internationally recognized for her vocal contributions to Massive Attack’s trail-blazing ‘Mezzanine’ LP – most notably their biggest hit, “Teardrop”. Damon, the long-time drummer with Massive Attack, also spent the ‘90s as a member of Spiritualized and Echo and the Bunnymen. He has also recorded and performed with Baxter DuryGoldfrappThe Flies, and Butch Vig’s 5 Billion in Diamonds + many more.

The songs on ‘Sun’s Signature’ have been ruminating in the background of Fraser and Reece’s lives in some form for 20+ years, ever since Cocteau Twins broke up in 1997. Highly evolved, yet simultaneously primal – the music is an utterly original, compelling, and lush collection of songs that has developed through an Alice in Wonderland journey through life and music.

The idea for Sun’s Signature was born out of an invitation from ANOHNI in 2012 for Fraser and Reece to be the centerpiece of her celebrated curation of the Meltdown Festival at the Royal Festival Hall. It was there where they debuted embryonic forms of these songs, and ultimately that performance galvanized confidence in the project. Since that performance, Fraser has toured on the recent Mezzanine XXI world tour with Massive Attack, and has further lent her voice to an eclectic range of projects including Jonsi’s (Sigur Ros) “Cannibal”, Sam Lee’s “The Moon Shines Bright”, and Oneohtrix Point Never’s “Tales From The Trash Stratum”. Writing and recording together, Elizabeth and Damon have also provided the soundtrack for Graham Duff’s TV miniseries The Nightmare World of H.G. Wells.

%d bloggers like this: